Posted by: iryneefe | January 13, 2013

Free eBook on 13/01/13

Free eBook on 13/01/13

Obedience by Josh Hunt

Obedience.

I wonder how the word strikes you emotionally.

Does it make you mad? Does it irritate you? Does it cause you delight?
Would you like the Christian faith better if it didn’t demand obedience? Would you like God better if he didn’t ask for obedience? Would you like Jesus better if he had never said, “If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love.” John 15:10 (NIV)

Is obedience something you know you should do but don’t really want to do?

We are a nation of disobedient Christians. We say we follow Christ but we do not. We don’t get up every day and say to our Lord, “Whatever you want me to do; wherever you want me to go; whoever you call me to love. You are God; I am not. You are boss; I am not. You are Master; I am slave. Where you send I will go. What you will say I will do.”

Not all of us, or course. You may have picked up this book precisely because you have a long history of following God. The basic direction of your life has been for a long time to do what He tells you to do. You have tasted and discovered that God is good. You have picked up this book with the prayer that God would show you any wicked way in you.

I have logged over two million life-time miles on American Airlines alone teaching churches how to grow. I teach a method of doubling a group every two years or less by inviting every member and every prospect to every fellowship every month. It works when you work it. I have a nagging conviction that this is not the problem.

The problem is not that we need a better method or better programs or a new model. The issue is one of simple obedience. In my seminar I point out a simple fact of math. A group of then that doubled every eighteen months would reach a thousand people for God in ten years. We can do it by inviting every member and every prospect to every fellowship every month.

Rarely do I have people say to me that they don’t think it will work. They don’t say to me that they don’t think it is strategic or a reasonable plan. They don’t argue that it is not biblical—there are lots of verses on hospitality. Here is what I have heard them say to me:
• We are comfortable the way we are
• We just don’t want to do that
• We are not willing to do that

We don’t method problem or a model problem; we have an obedience problem.

But, there is a problem behind the problem. We don’t believe–really believe–that God is good. We don’t believe obedience is in our best interest.

This book demonstrates that it is. Obedience is always in our best interest.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00A0F5K6E/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=chriebootoda-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00A0F5K6E%20target=

NOTE : Although this book was listed as free at the time of this post, it may not be free when you arrive on this page. After selecting the download link, please be sure to confirm that the price of the book is 0.00 BEFORE you purchase or download.

Leave a Reply

Categories

